Uncategorized

#Bookstagram

Hey guys!

I took the plunge and I made an actual #Bookstagram account. I am quite excited about it. I just made it last night and I’ve gone on a following spree, but I’d love to get some new followers. So if you are on insta, please feel free to follow me. The link is below and I took a screengrab. Obviously, not a lot of posts, but I plan to get there. I hope you’ll take a look! ❤

My #Bookstagram!

Uncategorized

(E-Mail)box Monday!

tumblr_oq1sxdeuhz1qelqjto1_500Happy Monday…well, almost Tuesday, actually. I thought it’d be fun to share with you guys the ARC’s (advance reader copies) that I’ve been approved to read. I’m very excited to get into these. They’re all on my kindle and are ready for me to dive into! I can’t wait to read them. I’ve posted the descriptions of each book for you. If you’ve heard about any of these, let me know your thoughts! Are you excited for them? What books are you guys looking forward to?

What are ya’ll reading? Let me know in comments below!

Hope you had a good Monday! xxx

P.S: In light of the weekend’s events, I just wanted to take the time to tell you guys that I love you and if you ever need to talk, I’m here. We should remain vigilant and be mindful of history because those who forget it are doomed to repeat it. Be good to each other! x

page-separator

The year is 1739. Eliza Lucas is sixteen years old when her father leaves her in charge of cover111991-mediumtheir family’s three plantations in rural South Carolina and then proceeds to bleed the estates dry in pursuit of his military ambitions. Tensions with the British, and with the Spanish in Florida, just a short way down the coast, are rising, and slaves are starting to become restless. Her mother wants nothing more than for their South Carolina endeavor to fail so they can go back to England. Soon her family is in danger of losing everything.

Upon hearing how much the French pay for indigo dye, Eliza believes it’s the key to their salvation. But everyone tells her it’s impossible, and no one will share the secret to making it. Thwarted at nearly every turn, even by her own family, Eliza finds that her only allies are an aging horticulturalist, an older and married gentleman lawyer, and a slave with whom she strikes a dangerous deal: teach her the intricate thousand-year-old secret process of making indigo dye and in return—against the laws of the day—she will teach the slaves to read.

So begins an incredible story of love, dangerous and hidden friendships, ambition, betrayal, and sacrifice.

Based on historical documents, including Eliza’s letters, this is a historical fiction account of how a teenage girl produced indigo dye, which became one of the largest exports out of South Carolina, an export that laid the foundation for the incredible wealth of several Southern families who still live on today. Although largely overlooked by historians, the accomplishments of Eliza Lucas influenced the course of US history. When she passed away in 1793, President George Washington served as a pallbearer at her funeral.

This book is set between 1739 and 1744, with romance, intrigue, forbidden friendships, and political and financial threats weaving together to form the story of a remarkable young woman whose actions were before their time: the story of the indigo girl.

page-separator

In this beautifully written novel of historical fiction, bestselling author Susan Holloway Scott tells the story of Alexander Hamilton’s wife, Eliza—a fascinating, strong-willed heroine in her own right and a key figure in one of the most gripping periods in American history.

“Love is not easy with a man chosen by Fate for greatness . . .”

As the daughter of a respected general, Elizabeth Schuyler is accustomed to socializing

cover116994-medium

with dignitaries and soldiers. But no visitor to her parents’ home has affected her so strongly as Alexander Hamilton, a charismatic, ambitious aide to George Washington. They marry quickly, and despite the tumult of the American Revolution, Eliza is confident in her brilliant husband and in her role as his helpmate. But it is in the aftermath of war, as Hamilton becomes one of the country’s most important figures, that she truly comes into her own.

In the new capital, Eliza becomes an adored member of society, respected for her fierce devotion to Hamilton as well as her grace. Behind closed doors, she astutely manages their expanding household, and assists her husband with his political writings. Yet some challenges are impossible to prepare for.

Through public scandal, betrayal, personal heartbreak, and tragedy, she is tested again and again. In the end, it will be Eliza’s indomitable strength that makes her not only Hamilton’s most crucial ally in life, but also his most loyal advocate after his death, determined to preserve his legacy while pursuing her own extraordinary path through the nation they helped shape together.

 

 

page-separator

cover116861-mediumThe family behind the Virgin Queen

It is 1559, and Elizabeth Tudor has just succeeded to the throne of England. Beside her are the family who will share the momentous triumphs and setbacks of her reign: the Allgraves. Richard and Margaret Allgrave’s lives and those of their children and grandchildren are destined to be closely bound to that of the queen, though with such power will also come grave personal sacrifice.

This is a tale of kinship, loyalty, heroism and reward, set in the time of Drake, Frobisher and the Armada; of Mary Stuart, sent to her violent death. It is also the story of Elizabeth herself, the woman behind the magnificent facade of velvets, silks and jewels. A woman who passionately loved just one man, but chose to devote her life to her country and its people. Together Elizabeth and the Allgraves created the Tudor Heritage – a nation whose power was to be feared and respected for centuries to come.

Told with Lynda Andrews’ trademark vibrant storytelling panache, The Tudor Heritage will appeal to readers of Phillipa Gregory, Emily Purdy and Anne O’Brien. Reissued nearly 40 years after their original publication, they showcase the emerging talent of a writer who has become one of Britain’s bestselling and most-loved authors.

page-separator

cover115011-mediumOn the Feast Day of Bride, 
The Daughter of Ivor, 
Shall come from her mound, 
In the rocks amongst the heather.
I will not touch Ivor’s daughter, 
Nor shall she harm me.

Two extraordinary women come back to full-bodied life. Flora McIvor has been rescued from the pages of Sir Walter Scott, who sent her to a nunnery. Her close friend, the real life Clementina Walkinshaw, was the love of Bonnie Prince Charlie, and mother of his only child. Both are caught up in a tangle of espionage and treachery following the defeat of the 1745 Jacobite Rising in Scotland.