Uncategorized

To Jules With Love.

I promised my pal Julianne that I would come up with a list of books she’d enjoy based primarily in Supernatural and Fantasy Themes. She’s always on the go and she’s such a sweetheart, so I hope you enjoy this list, chica, and I hope some of you, my followers, leave some suggestions in comments below for her. Her hubby loves horror, so if you have some suggestions for horror, please, be sure to drop those titles below too.

Some of these haven’t been released yet, but I’ll include the date for you guys too.

For generations, the princes of Ilara have married the most beautiful maidens from the ocean village of Varenia. But though every girl longs to be chosen as the next princess, the cost of becoming royalty is higher than any of them could ever imagine…

Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and beauty of Ilara, the kingdom that’s ruled her village for as long as anyone can remember. But when a childhood accident left her with a permanent scar, it became clear that her identical twin sister, Zadie, would likely be chosen to marry the Crown Prince—while Nor remained behind, unable to ever set foot on land.

Then Zadie is gravely injured, and Nor is sent to Ilara in her place. To Nor’s dismay, her future husband, Prince Ceren, is as forbidding and cold as his home—a castle carved into a mountain and devoid of sunlight. And as she grows closer to Ceren’s brother, the charming Prince Talin, Nor uncovers startling truths about a failing royal bloodline, a murdered queen…and a plot to destroy the home she was once so eager to leave.

In order to save her people, Nor must learn to negotiate the treacherous protocols of a court where lies reign and obsession rules. But discovering her own formidable strength may be the one move that costs her everything: the crown, Varenia and Zadie.

Pub Date 27 Aug 2019

d163a-rainbow-hearts-page-divider

Debut author Margaret Owen crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, survival, and sacrifice—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake—in The Merciful Crow.

“Packed to the teeth with fresh world building and righteous fury…It’s a ride that is wildly fun.”—Emily A. Duncan, New York Times-bestselling author of Wicked Saints

“Rich, harrowing, and unafraid to tackle discrimination—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Tomi Adeyemi.”—KirkusStarred Review 

One way or another, we always feed the crows.

A future chieftain

Fie abides by one rule: look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they’re called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime.

A fugitive prince

When Crown Prince Jasimir turns out to have faked his death, Fie’s ready to cut her losses—and perhaps his throat. But he offers a wager that she can’t refuse: protect him from a ruthless queen, and he’ll protect the Crows when he reigns.

A too-cunning bodyguard

Hawk warrior Tavin has always put Jas’s life before his, magically assuming the prince’s appearance and shadowing his every step. But what happens when Tavin begins to want something to call his own?

Publish Date: July 30th, 2019

d163a-rainbow-hearts-page-divider

When Lena’s younger sister Fressa is found dead, their whole Viking clan mourns—but it is Lena alone who never recovers. Fressa is the sister that should’ve lived, and Lena cannot rest until she knows exactly what killed Fressa and why—and how to bring her back. She strikes a dark deal with Hela, the Norse goddess of death, and begins a new double life to save her sister.

But as Lena gets closer to bringing Fressa back, she dredges up dangerous discoveries about her own family and finds herself in the middle of a devastating plan to spur Ragnarök –a deadly chain of events leading to total world destruction. Still, with her sister’s life in the balance, Lena is willing to risk it all. She’s even willing to kill. How far will she go before the darkness consumes her?

Pub Date 03 Dec 2019

d163a-rainbow-hearts-page-divider

cute

I have been very vocal in my love for the Stalking Jack the Ripper series, which is sadly, coming to an end in September. However, that’s no reason for me not to tell you to read them. A novella recently came out, and you can read the synopsis here. And I have a synopsis of ‘Capturing the Devil‘ here.

I have a spotlight of ‘Escaping Houdini‘ here, a review of ‘Stalking‘ here.

d163a-rainbow-hearts-page-divider

Each year, eight beautiful girls are chosen as Paper Girls to serve the king. It’s the highest honor they could hope for…and the most cruel.

But this year, there’s a ninth girl. And instead of paper, she’s made of fire.

In this lush fantasy, Lei is a member of the Paper caste, the lowest and most oppressed class in Ikhara. She lives in a remote village with her father, where the decade-old trauma of watching her mother snatched by royal guards still haunts her. Now, the guards are back, and this time it’s Lei they’re after–the girl whose golden eyes have piqued the king’s interest.

Over weeks of training in the opulent but stifling palace, Lei and eight other girls learn the skills and charm that befit being a king’s consort. But Lei isn’t content to watch her fate consume her. Instead, she does the unthinkable–she falls in love. Her forbidden romance becomes enmeshed with an explosive plot that threatens the very foundation of Ikhara, and Lei, still the wide-eyed country girl at heart, must decide just how far she’s willing to go for justice and revenge.

Presented by James Patterson, Natasha Ngan’s lyrical, searing, visceral fantasy, Girls of Paper and Fire, will remind us how precious freedom is–and the price we must pay to achieve it.

–I can’t wait for the sequel! Fortunately, it’s not too far off. You can expect it on November 5th!-

d163a-rainbow-hearts-page-divider

The New York Times bestselling “epic feminist fantasy perfect for fans of Game of Thrones” (Bustle).

A world divided.
A queendom without an heir.
An ancient enemy awakens.

The House of Berethnet has ruled Inys for a thousand years. Still unwed, Queen Sabran the Ninth must conceive a daughter to protect her realm from destruction–but assassins are getting closer to her door.

Ead Duryan is an outsider at court. Though she has risen to the position of lady-in-waiting, she is loyal to a hidden society of mages. Ead keeps a watchful eye on Sabran, secretly protecting her with forbidden magic.

Across the dark sea, Tané has trained all her life to be a dragonrider, but is forced to make a choice that could see her life unravel.

Meanwhile, the divided East and West refuse to parley, and forces of chaos are rising from their sleep.

d163a-rainbow-hearts-page-divider

pjimageThe Discovery of Witches Trilogy is…perfect if you love Supernatural stuff, fantasy, history…don’t worry. The history isn’t going to overwhelm you. It’s there, but it’s not the dull lecture type of book. None of these are; even the ‘The World of All Souls’, which goes more in-depth into things mentioned in the book. It only adds to it, which is what it’s supposed to do. It’s one of my favorite series and that’s not a title I hand out loosely. I can’t sing enough praises about it. And the TV show? Oh my. Spot. On. Casting. A rare case of a show being as good as the book.
-Discovery of Witches-

Diana Bishop, a young scholar and a descendant of witches, discovers a long-lost and enchanted alchemical manuscript, Ashmole 782, deep in Oxford’s Bodleian Library. Its reappearance summons a fantastical underworld, which she navigates with her leading man, vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont.

-Shadow of Night-

Picking up from A Discovery of Witches’ cliffhanger ending, Shadow of Night takes Diana and Matthew on a trip through time to Elizabethan London, where they are plunged into a world of spies, magic, and a coterie of Matthew’s old friends, the School of Night. As the search for Ashmole 782 deepens and Diana seeks out a witch to tutor her in magic, the net of Matthew’s past tightens around them, and they embark on a very different—and vastly more dangerous—journey.

-The Book of Life-

Bringing the magic and suspense of the All Souls Trilogy to a deeply satisfying conclusion, this highly anticipated finale went straight to #1 on the New York Times bestseller list. In The Book of Life, Diana and Matthew time-travel back from Elizabethan London to make a dramatic return to the present—facing new crises and old enemies. At Matthew’s ancestral home, Sept-Tours, they reunite with the beloved cast of characters from A Discovery of Witches—with one significant exception. But the real threat to their future has yet to be revealed, and when it is, the search for Ashmole 782 and its missing pages takes on even more urgency.

d163a-rainbow-hearts-page-divider

902600810837221335898

The ACOTAR series wasn’t one I had planned to read. If this particular paragraph seems familiar, it’s because it’s from a post in November of last year. But I’m putting it here because I nailed summarizing it. to put the synopsis of each book would spoil the previous ones. I’m not about that. I posted them for ADOW because they don’t give away the whole story. Anyway.  The ACOTAR series is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, but with faerie lore. This is not the BATB you grew up knowing! It’s such a fascinating premise and getting caught up in each different world and court is easy to do. Feyre is who she is and I love that about her. Every character is vibrant, serving a purpose and are not there for no reason. Sarah J. Maas’s ability to draw the reader into this world she’s created is intoxicating.

d163a-rainbow-hearts-page-divider

img_20181112_113109914

“Three dark queens
Are born in a glen,
Sweet little triplets
Will never be friends

Three dark sisters
All fair to be seen,
Two to devour
And one to be Queen.” 

The Three Dark Crowns series. I was going to post the synopsizes for all three, however…it does get spoilerish and I don’t want to spoil them for you. Now…I will tell you, the first part of the first book; it was super slow. Don’t give up on it! I promise it’s worth sticking it out for. The author took triplets, made them into Queens, mortal enemies and just making hell on earth…it’s fun. It’s a dark series with all of the things that make these types of books wonderfully addicting. The last in the series comes out in September. Another bummer; but I am intrigued about what we can expect next from the author.

This arrives on September 3rd. Can’t wait!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s