The Indigo Girl {A Review}

Untitled-1

Oct10_divider

 

Oct10_divider

Untitled-2

❝It was so unlike me, but yet, it was me. Something was unfurling within me from behind the fear of societal expectations. Something true and deep. A part of my soul I’d always known was there but never acknowledged. I knew I’d never completely stop playing the role assigned to me in this life, but I would never ever let it compromise me.❞

add-to-goodreads-button

 

What I love about this book is that this is based on a true story. There’s nothing more interesting to me than when you take someone’s story and share it with the world who may not have known it. Eliza Lucas is sixteen when her father leaves her in charge of her family’s plantations when he goes back to to Antigua to serve as lieutenant governor during the English and Spanish conflict.  In a world where women are supposed to sit pretty and marry well, this is a unique opportunity for Eliza and one that she relishes, though her mother would prefer to see her married off and her husband tending to overseeing the plantations. It’s through her own determination and hard world that she avoids the yoke of marriage and instead struggles to see if indigo, a highly sought after dye, could be grown in the colony. Her determination and her willingness to work with the slaves of the property, whom she treated like family, teaching them to read in exchange for their helping her with the crop.

Even though she’s sixteen, there was a naivete about her, which is stripped away through time and in its place a new grit is formed and adds to Eliza’s already unique personality and mindset. I loved how she refused to be let down, that she kept fighting until she succeeded and continued with that same indomitable spirit throughout the rest of her life. She is also remarkable because General George Washington was one of the pallbearers at her funeral in 1793. She was truly amazing and she seems to have passed that down to her children, her two sons both were Federalist Vice Presidential candidates, the elder son was a signatory on the Constitution.

Included in the novel are actual snippets from Eliza’s letters and it’s lovely to hear Eliza’s own voice in this tome about her. Granted, it is a first person perspective, but there’s something special about including Eliza’s actual words.

I loved this book and I can’t wait to reread it. Ms. Boyd has a gift for storytelling and how to make things come alive. It was an absolute joy to read and I forced myself to take my time–I’m usually a fast reader–because I wanted to savor the story and to really get to know Eliza and her family. It’s a book you should enjoy and share with friends; it’s truly a wonderful read.

I’d give it ★★★★★ stars.

Additional Notes:

  • I received a copy of this in exchange for my fair and honest review.
  • would recommend this to a friend. 100%!

11

Amazon | Books A Million | Barnes & Noble

Falling-autumn-leaves-divider

Author Photo Natasha Boyd

Natasha Boyd is an internationally bestselling and award-winning author of contemporary romantic Southern fiction and historical fiction. She holds a bachelor of science in psychology and also has a background in marketing and public relations. After hearing one of Eliza’s descendants speaking about Eliza’s accomplishments, the need to tell her story became so overwhelming that it couldn’t be ignored. Hence, The Indigo Girl was born. Boyd also started an Instagram account to document the research she accumulated; visit @eliza.the_indigo_girl for more information.

 

Leave a Reply

