Happy Halloween! (IT’s a little early.)

They say one should always face their fears. I don’t know why, I’m not going to be less afraid of the thing, should I face it. Spiders, wasps, snakes. Faced them, still terrified. I guess you could say I’m afraid of creepy crawly sort of things. I’m afraid of many things, but also on that list? Clowns. I freaking hate clowns. I don’t know why, but I developed the fear and once my friends knew, they ran with it. (Jerks.) They took to sending me pictures of Tim Curry’s rendition of Pennywise the Dancing Clown and just creepy ones in general. Opening e-mails from them after awhile became horrible and I stopped. They do the same on Facebook, but I admit, I’m somewhat more ready for it now. Especially old-and-new-pennywise-the-clown-itsince they went in with the new version of Pennywise. Now, I’m a Bill Skarsgard fan, just as I am Tim Curry. I have to remind myself that underneath all that horrible makeup and costume, are two very talented actors. But, look at this picture of them in costume. Creepy!

But let’s be honest…clowns are still really creepy. I just don’t like them. For my birthday, my parents got me two t-shirts but they didn’t fit–stupid PCOS has had me gain more weight–and when we went to exchange them, I saw my nemesis on the shelf.

That’s right, ya’ll. I saw the red balloon. I saw Georgie.  In short, I saw the book and I decided, “I’m going to do it. I’m going to read the book.” And so, my parents got me ‘It’ as a birthday gift. (Along with my new bookcase! Yay!)

I can honestly say, I have never read a Stephen King book. Despite my parents being huge fans and having read his books, I never quite got around to them, which is to my detriment. I am really, enjoying the book. I’m about 100 pages in. But I stopped reading.

Why? Because I decided I’m going to read the rest in October. When better to read something scary than in October? Now, my readers, I’ve got a question for you guys. What are things YOU are afraid of? And what are some frightening reads that you might suggest? I love Halloween and I want to read some good scary stuff. I’m thinking to add more Stephen King, but I’d love suggestions!

 

One thought on “Happy Halloween! (IT’s a little early.)

  1. bibliobeth says:

    Hope you love IT as much as I do when you get round to it! It’s one of my all time favourites (but I am a bit of a Stephen King nut) I also highly recommend Pet Cemetery if you want a creepy Halloween read by him!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

